TENANTS &
FORECLOSURE

IN MINNESOTA
TENANTS & Tenants: You have rights.

FORECLOSURE

Minnesota is experiencing a mortgage foreclosure crisis with thousands
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of homes being foreclosed throughout the state. Many of those being
affected by this crisis are renters whose landlords are in foreclosure. As a
renter, it is difficult to know your next move—both legally and physically.
Know and exercise your rights.

CONTACT US

Nonprofit agencies have set up help lines throughout the state to assist
renters who are losing their homes to the foreclosure crisis. Experienced
lawyers and counselors are available to help answer your questions and
help you make the right move.

H H H We can help you exercise them.
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In some‘communities; nearly
half of those being-affected by
the mortgage crisis are renters.
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Q & A for Minnesota renters affected by foreclosure.

What is a Foreclosure?

When a property owner fails to make mortgage payments, the lender can order the county
sheriff to auction the property. This procedure is called a foreclosure. The notice of fore-
closure delivered to the occupants should include information on tenant rights.

What is a Sheriff’s Sale?

When a foreclosure is filed, the county sheriff sells the property at auction. The mortgage
holder usually buys the property for the full value of the mortgage. Later, the mortgage holder
will try to resell the property and recoup its losses. The tenant does not have to move before
the sale and can remain in the property for at least six months.

How do | know if the property is in Foreclosure?
In most cases, the landlord must disclose to the tenant if the property is in foreclosure before
renting the property. The sheriff’s office also should have information on all foreclosures.

How long can | stay?
In a typical foreclosure, a tenant can remain in the property for six months after the sheriff’s
sale. This time is called the redemption period.

Who gets my rent payment?

During the redemption period, the tenant must continue to pay the rent to the landlord. Both
parties must abide by the lease during the redemption period. After the redemption period,

a tenant owes rent to the new owner. Often, the new owner will not accept rent because they
want the tenant to move.

How much notice will | receive?

At the end of the redemption period, many existing leases become void. As of August 1, 2008,
tenants whose leases began or were renewed after the notice of foreclosure are entitled to a
two month notice to move.

What if my utilities are shut off?
If utilities are shut off because of the landlord’s failure to pay, contact us. As the tenant, you
may have to go to court and we can help you in this process.

The tenant can also have the utilities turned on again by contacting the utility company. The
tenant will have to pay for what was used last month. However, the company must continue
service for at least 30 days. The tenant also might be able to take over the bill for the future.

How can | recover my secuity deposit?

Tenants are entitled to the return of their security deposit within 21 days after ending the tenancy.
If the property was sold, the former landlord must either return the deposit to the tenants or
transfer the deposit to the new owner.

A new law allows the tenant to withhold the rent for the last month of the redemption period and
have the deposit cover it.

Don’t delay. Call us for free advice and help.

CONTACT US

If you live in Minneapolis
Legal Aid Society
612-334-5970

Hours: M-F, 9:30 to 11:30 a.m.
and 1:30 to 3:30 p.m.

If you live in Saint Paul
Southern Minnesota Regional
Legal Services

651-222-4731

Hours: M-F, 9 a.m. to Noon

and 1 to 3 p.m. Is your landlord in
If you live outside fOI’GClOSU re?
Minneapolis/Saint Paul KnOW your next moyve.

HOMELine

612-728-5767 Call us today.

or 1-866-866-3546 H

Please visit www.LawHelpMN.org
for additional information on tenants
and foreclosure.




